CTSA Inter-Institutional Pilot Funding Opportunity

The Western States Consortium, which includes University of Iowa Institute for Clinical and Translational Science and five other Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) institutions, invites all faculty to apply for inter-institutional pilot award applications.

In addition to ICTS, the Western States Consortium members are the University of Arkansas Medical Sciences, University of Kentucky, University of New Mexico, University of Kansas Medical Center, and University of Utah, all part of the national CTSA consortium, supported by the National Center for Advancing Translational Science (NCATS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Pilot purpose

The purpose of the pilot awards is to promote inter-institutional collaboration by funding innovative, translational research projects that involve two or more of the six Western States Consortium members.

Awards of up to $25,000 will be provided by each participating institution.

Additional details

For additional details, view the Request for Applications (RFA) document.

Letter of Intent process

This call uses a Letter of Intent (LOI) process. LOIs are required, but not binding or reviewed/scored; they are for administrative planning purposes. LOIs are due February 14, 2020. LOIs should be submitted through the grant submission system; please see the RFA for more information on how to submit.

Contact information

If you have any questions, please contact C. Jamie Thrams, charles-thrams@uiowa.edu, 319-384-5365.

Key dates

  • Application release date: December 9, 2019
  • Letter of Intent & draft aims deadline: February 14, 2020
  • IRB submissions deadline: February 14, 2020
  • Application deadline: April 10, 2020, 5:00 p.m. Central Time
  • Notice of intent to fund at each CTSA: May 11, 2020
  • Just in time period: May 11, 2020 – June 30, 2020
  • Earliest award announcement: June 12, 2020
  • Funding cycle: July 1, 2020 – June 20, 2021

Download request for applications