REDCap Training

REDCap overview training

Not sure what REDCap is? Want to find out if REDCap is suitable for your research project? The REDCap Overview session will cover the basics of REDCap’s functionality and capability. No previous experience is needed. We cover the basic capabilities and the latest software enhancements. NOTE: This is not a hands-on course. After this training you will have a basic understanding of what REDCap’s capability.

REDCap basic hands-on training

This training is a basic overview of REDCap. We will go through the process of creating a REDCap project starting with instrument design, assigning users access to the project, repeating instruments, enabling surveys, project testing, and ending with production mode. After this training, you will have a baseline competency in REDCap.

REDCap Basic hands-off

This training is a basic overview of REDCap that is hands-off/lecture. We will go through the process of creating a REDCap project starting with instrument design, assigning users access to the project, repeating instruments, enabling surveys, project testing, and ending with production mode. You will follow along in with the instructor visually. After this training you will have a baseline competency in REDCap.

MyCap training

MyCap makes it easy for researchers to capture participant/patient reported outcomes using mobile devices. We will demonstrate a how a participant interacts with MyCap, how the REDCap Team constructs instruments and tasks and how a research study team can enroll participants, message participants, view and interact with participant data. After this training you will have a an understanding of how to use REDCap MyCap.

REDCap data quality and reports training

This course assumes participants have a basic understanding of building instruments and surveys in REDCap. This training will cover the different ways to view and manage data in REDCap including data quality rules, custom record status dashboards, and creating reports as well as importing and exporting data. After this training, you will be able to create complex reports for viewing and exporting, import data from external sources, and check for discrepancies in your data.

Data handling training

Data Handling covers the basic ‘must know’ items for transforming your data using Excel and Sublime. Basic understanding of Excel is recommended prior to taking this course.

Excel Topics Covered

  • Bringing Data into Excel
  • Making it easier to view & understand your data
  • Categorizing raw data
  • Creating a basic calculation​
  • Vlookup
  • Totals
  • Tables
  • Pivot tables

Sublime Topics Covered

  • Finding data
  • Editing multiple rows of data at once
  • Cleaning Data

REDCap alerts and notifications training

This course assumes participants have a basic understanding of building instruments and surveys in REDCap. In this course users will learn to construct and send customized email alerts to one or more recipients, in which the emails are triggered when a form/survey is completed and optionally based on conditional logic. After this course you will have a basic understanding of how to use Alerts and Notifications.

Logic and survey distribution training

This training will cover REDCap surveys and logic. From enabling surveys to automatic survey invitations, we'll demonstrate the full survey functionality in REDCap. In addition, we'll cover hiding/showing fields with branching logic, calculating the difference between 2 dates with a calculated field, and other logical functions available in REDCap. After this training, you will have the ability to create and send surveys in a variety of ways as well as creating more complex projects using logic.

REDCap advanced 1 and 2 training

This course assumes participants have a basic understanding of building instruments and surveys in REDCap. This training will cover advanced features of REDCap instruments and fields. We'll demonstrate how action tags can perform an action on a field, how data can be piped from one field to another, how using biomedical ontologies can standardize your data, and how to use validated instruments from the shared library. This will also cover the longitudinal module and using smart variables to create more dynamic and context specific logic.

After this training you will have knowledge of advanced options for instruments and fields.

2021 trainings

Type of training

Date

Time

Overview Tuesday, January 12 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, January 14 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, January 14 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, January 20 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Advanced Thursday, January 21 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, February 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, February 11 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Demo Thursday, February 11 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, February 17 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Quality Thursday, February 18 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, March 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, March 11 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, March 11 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, March 17 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Handling Thursday, March 18 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, April 6 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, April 8 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, April 8 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, April 14 10:00 am - 11:00 am
MyCap Thursday, April 15 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, May 4 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, May 6 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, May 6 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, May 12 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Advanced Thursday, May 13 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, June 8 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, June 10 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Demo Thursday, June 10 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, June 16 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Quality Thursday, June 17 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, July 6 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, July 8 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, July 8 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, July 14 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Handling Thursday, July 15 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, August 10 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, August 12 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, August 12 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, August 18 10:00 am - 11:00 am
MyCap Thursday, August 19 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, September 7 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, September 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, September 9 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, September 15 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Advanced Thursday, September 16 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, October 5 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, October 7 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, October 7 2:00 pm - 3:00pm
Surveys Wednesday, October 13 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Quality Thurdsday, October 14 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, November 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, November 11 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, November 11 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, November 17 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Data Handling Thursday, November 18 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
     
Overview Tuesday, December 7 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Hands-On Thursday, December 9 10:00 am - 11:00 am
Basic Demo Thursday, December 9 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Surveys Wednesday, December 15 10:00 am - 11:00 am
MyCap Thursday, December 16th 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Registration

Registration is required and limited to 8 people for each REDCap Training session. 

Register

All trainings are currently being held virtually. After your initial confirmation email you will receive a follow up email with the session link directly from the course instructor.

Help the Institute for Clinical and Translational Science at the University of Iowa continue making new strides in medical research by citing the NIH CTSA program grant UL1TR002537.